Fry v Widdecombe on the worth of the Catholic Church

 

 

 

 

This is one of those fascinating debates where rhetoric, theology, philosophy and humour come together in a nice 10 minute snippet.

This is strangely apropos for me because yesterday I overheard my father describing, with all sincerity, the Eucharist. I had to choke back my words.

This is a reasoning human being who I love deeply. I do not always agree with him. But in this case I was flabberghasted at the audacity of stating with all seriousness that bread and wine become flesh and blood. No. No. No. No.

This hokum has been refuted in a number of places and one can pretty much see this charlatanism for what it is: medieval smoke and mirrors.

I cannot reconcile this sadly.

 

Stephen Fry debating Ann Widdecombe on the worth of the Catholic Church – Boing Boing.

Leave a Reply

